Museum logo
Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Books by Faith Ringgold-Children's Books
Accession number MS2016.03
Object Name Manuscript
Series ID MS03.17a
Parent Object ID MS03.17
Collection Faith Ringgold Study Room Collection
System of arrangement The first 34 books (including copies, which may have different numbers) were numbered by the artist and are arranged in numerical order. The last book follows the previous ones. Associated archival material is located in Hollinger boxes to the right of the books. Folders within Hollinger Box 01 are arranged chronologically by the first year of the contents inside and the contents within the folders are also arranged chronologically. Folders within Hollinger Box 02 are arranged alphabetically by the folder title.
Description This sub-gallery contains children's books written by Faith Ringgold published from 1991-2016. It contains copies of her first book "Tar Beach" to her most recent "We Came To America." Highlights include a folder of handwritten and typed children story drafts and a notebook of photographs and research of Martin Luther King that may have served as the inspiration for Ringgold's book "My Dream of Martin Luther King." Other material included in this series consist of correspondence, research, reviews, article, advertisements, video recordings, and early drafts of her children's books.
Level Sub-series
Date 1991-2016
Quantity 0
Containers Tar Beach
Aunt Harriet's Underground Railroad in the Sky
Dinner at Aunt Connie's House
My Dream of Martin Luther King
Talking to Faith Ringgold
Bonjour, Lonnie
The Invisible Princess
Counting To Tar Beach
Cassie's Colorful Day
If A Bus Could Talk
Cassie's Word Quilt
O Holy Night
Faith Ringgold: A View From the Studio
The Three Witches
Bronzeville Boys and Girls
Henry Ossawa Turner: His Boyhood Dream Comes True
Harlem Renaissance Party
We Came to America
Children Story Drafts, 1991-1997
Aunt Harriet's Underground Railroad in the Sky, 1992-1993
Tar Beach, 1990-1999
Dinner at Aunt Connie's House, 1992-1994
Young Children and African American Literature, 1995
My Dream of Martin Luther King, 1995-2003
If A Bus Could Talk, 1999-2014
The Invisible Princess, 1998-1999
What Will You Do For Peace?, 2003
A View from the Studio
Bonjour, Lonnie
Cassie's Word Quilt
Coming to America
How the People Became Colorblind
Photographs of Martin Luther King
Talking to Faith Ringgold, Unknown Year
O Holy Night, 2004
We Came To America, 2015
Books By or About Faith Ringgold
Tar Beach with Faith Ringgold
Goodnight Moon And Other Sleepytime Tales